Introducing Barry Green


Barry Green

Recorded January, 2007


Barry Green


  • Ingrid Laubrock – Saxophones
  • Martin Speake – Saxophones
  • Christine Tobin – Vocals
  • Anita Wardell – Vocals
  • Barry Green – Piano
  • Dave Whitford – Bass
  • Seb Rochford – Drums


  1. Ablution
  2. Home (#1)
  3. There’s No Disappointment In Heaven
  4. Anthropolgy
  5. I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face
  6. The More I See You
  7. I’m Gonna Laugh You Right Out Of My Life
  8. Home #2
  9. This Is Always
  10. For Elvin
  11. In My Life
  12. Kid Dynamite
  13. All Of Me
  14. Four In One
  15. Timings

Recorded January, 2007


“The pianist can effortlessly sustain a graceful Bill Evans-like lyrical swing, but also massages the ideas of the others. His contemporary references give him a broad sweep, and he has much to do with this set’s freedom from bop-standard rigidities…The pianist wraps a light tracery around Speake against ringing cymbal and thumping keynotes on Jitterbug Waltz, and then plays a pungent solo..”

John Fordham

The Guardian

“the trio tracks show off Green’s virtuosity. His work can be both intricate and assertive, and is constantly inventive. A CD which generously repays repeated listening.”

Pete Martin

Jazz UK

“That Green possesses such wide ranging interests will surprise no-one who has caught him with the various band leaders to whose groups he contributes his sparkling but cogent piano work”

Chris Parker

Vortex Magazine